London International Piano Competition

We are delighted that the Winner of the 2009 London International Piano Competition, Behzod Abduraimov, will make another high-profile appearance in the London area, this time with the Philharmonia Orchestra under the baton of Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Philharmonia Orchestra

Conductor Vladimir Ashkenazy
Soloist Behzod Abduraimov

Programme to include: Prokofiev Concerto for Piano No. 3 in C major, Op.26

March 21st at 7.45pm
The Anvil, Basingstoke, England

March 22nd, 2018 at 7.30pm
Royal Festival Hall, London, England

The London International Piano Competition provides an outstanding opportunity for audiences to witness talent of the very highest order.  Over the years, artists such as Simon Trpceski, Paul Lewis, Leon McCawley, Ashley Wass, Antti Siirala, Giuseppe Andaloro, Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, Herbert Schuch and Behzod Abduraimov have emerged from this Competition to careers of international stature. With the aim of presenting the London International Piano Competition as part of the Southbank Centre's developing artistic policy our joint initiative attracts a wider public to an exciting and dynamic series of piano events.  The only major international piano competition to take place in London, it offers an invaluable opportunity for young concert pianists to further their careers so artists of tomorrow are introduced to the audiences of today.

The Competition was founded by its Chairman and Artistic Controller, Sulamita Aronovsky, the distinguished pianist, teacher and international juror.

In recognition of the outstanding achievements in discovering and promoting young artists worldwide, the London International Piano Competition was honoured to receive the 2012 Johanna Dürmüller-Bol Young Classics Award.

The ceremony took place in Bern, Switzerland and Sulamita Aronovsky was presented the prize by Maestro Vladimir Ashkenazy, Marc Stucki- CEO, Johanna Dürmüller-Bol Foundation and Hans Jordi- President, Interlaken Classics.

Check the results page for more information on the prizewinners of the last edition.